VCA Animal Hospitals Review 2022 - Protect My Paws (2024)

VCA Animal Hospitals has been known to the American public as the usual go-to place whenever pets get sick, need emergency care, a simple check-up, or a preventative procedure. But, VCA is much more than a simple healthcare provider.

The Veterinary Centers of America employ over 6,000 veterinarians across more than 1,000 locations in 46 US states and 5 Canadian provinces. Since its foundation in 1986, the company has pioneered research in the veterinary field and continues to break barriers while better understanding illnesses, treatment outcomes, and improvement of pets’ lives.

Their wellness program, the VCA Care Club®, is one of the best pet healthcare products of its kind. By joining this club, pet owners who appreciate an affordable and comprehensive way to keep their pet’s health and happiness in check get to enjoy that all year round.

Continue reading this VCA Animal Hospitals review to learn all the details about this pet healthcare company and figure out how they can enhance your and your cat’s and dog’s life.

VCA’s Pros & Cons

ProsCons
A complete health exam is not a requirement for enrolling in one of VCA’s CareClub coverage plans.Lack of transparency of pricing.
Excellent rating by the BBB.No multi-pet discount is available.
Coverage is available at over 1,000 locations in the US and Canada.No free-trial option is available.
No waiting periods.The monthly fee is more expensive than alternative wellness options.
Six comprehensive plans that cover spaying/neutering, dental cleaning, extensive lab testing and diagnostics, and more.Coverage isn’t available with any licensed veterinarian.
A thorough knowledge base packed with helpful tips and articles.
High-end mobile app (myVCA) for managing your membership and scheduling all veterinary appointments.
24/7 virtual live chat with veterinary professionals.
Up to 25% in savings when bundled with other VCA products or services.

VCA’s Key Attributes

  1. Underwriter: VCA Animal Hospitals are a small world on their own. With so many locations and staff, they can practically be called a veterinarian empire. With that said, they’re not associated with any type of insurance product and, therefore, not underwritten by a financial institution. AM Best only ranks those on their website.
    • AM Best Rating: N/A
    • BBB Rating: A+
  2. Exam period: VCA’s pet coverage plans revolve around pet wellness care. This type of pet coverage is seldom restricted by requirements for complete health exams as that is its purpose anyway. VCA will accept your pet on one of their wellness plans without requesting their medical history records.
  3. Increase in monthly fee: One thing we don’t appreciate about VCA’s model is their secrecy around pricing. While we do have some information on how much their plans cost initially, there is no information available if they bump their prices as years go by. Pet insurance companies usually do this for a myriad of reasons, but VCA is not an insurance agency, so we’re willing to give them the benefit of the doubt that they would increase your monthly fee over time.
  4. Claim submission time limit: All VCA CareClub members use their coverage in one of VCA’s veterinary facilities. This coverage will either cover your visit or procedure or not. Therefore, there are no claims to be filed.
  5. Claim processing times: You can use your pet wellness coverage immediately. As there are no claims, which is the case with pet insurance providers, there’s nothing to be processed either. Before you schedule an appointment with your VCA clinic, you’ll be notified if your visit/procedure will be covered by your coverage or not.
  6. Waiting periods: The great thing about the VCA CareClub is that it doesn’t impose a waiting period on its wellness plans. If you’ve researched pet insurance companies that also offer wellness options, you’re probably already familiar with this aspect as they don’t usually stick a waiting period on this type of pet coverage as well.
  7. Pet coverage with VCA is valid all around the US but limited only to VCA locations. There are over a thousand of these clinics, so there’s a good chance there’s one in your area of residence as well. Access their “Find a Hospital” section and learn where the nearest VCA location is. Note that VCA is located in all US states except Arkansas, Mississippi, North Dakota, and South Dakota.

VCA’s Coverage Plans

VCA Animal Hospitals Review 2022 - Protect My Paws (1)

To have exclusive access to premium pet care is a privilege that should never be overlooked by anyone. The VCA CareClub® is a membership program offered by the VCA that provides just that – personalized pet health care and first-rate benefits.

Becoming a VCA CareClub member is only possible in person at one of their locations. The CareClub is a program that allows you to deal with your pet’s routine, preventative, and wellness care with high efficiency by paying a convenient monthly fee.

There are six wellness plans on the CareClub program that are all customized with your cat’s or dog’s age in mind – Junior Paws, Junior Paws+, Adult Paws, Adult Paws+, Senior Paws, and Senior Paws+.

Puppies and kittens require different care than that of senior dogs and cats, and VCA tailors their wellness plans to accommodate this aspect of pet wellbeing.

On all of their plans, you’ll be covered for stuff like wellness exams, vaccinations, microchipping, dental care, diagnostics and lab work, and more. We’ll cover each plan specifically so you’ll know which one is the best option for your pet.

Whatever coverage comes with the CareClub plan you’re willing to choose, rest knowing that it will cover 100% of everything that’s included on it. You won’t have to participate with different types of out-of-pocket payments as is the case with pet insurance. With the VCA Care Club, there are no deductible and copayment amounts that you’ll need to meet in order for your wellness coverage to go into effect.

The CareClub doesn’t impose waiting periods either. As soon as you become a member, your coverage becomes effective immediately.

Now, let’s jump into reviewing each of the VCA CareClub pet wellness plans.

Junior Paws

The first of VCA’s CareClub wellness plans is the Junior Paws – a wellness plan designed for kittens and puppies that are still in the first year of their lives (up to 12 months of age).

Pups and kittens require special care when they’re only babies, and with that in mind, the Junior Paws plan includes what they need most. Vaccines and microchipping are crucial for their age, and this plan includes them all.

Puppies can receive all of their shots for distemper, rabies, leptospirosis, parvo, Lyme disease, influenza, and Bordetella. Kittens also have their sets of vaccines for Panleukopenia, rabies, Calici and Rhino (feline respiratory viruses), and FeLV (feline leukemia).

Both types of pets get two fecal exams, three complete wellness exams, and up to three treatments for deworming.

There are also the unlimited wellness visits to help maintain your little pet’s weight, coat, and skin at optimal levels at all times.

Ultimately, with the Junior Paws plan, you can microchip your pet for free. With this service, you also get one-year access to the Home Again platform which deals with managing your pet’s microchip and works on reuniting lost pets with their owners.

Junior Paws+

Everything that goes into your Junior Paws plan is also included in the Junior Paws+ wellness plan. The same rules apply – only puppies and kittens below the 1-year mark are accepted.

What’s most beneficial about this plan is that your pet will be covered for spaying or neutering. This is important for young pets as it significantly lowers the risks of developing certain conditions at a later stage in their lives.

The Junior Paws+ plan covers not only the surgery for spaying/neutering your pet but also all the procedures that surround it. Your pet will receive a full blood panel prior to the surgery, and IV fluids and pain medication post-surgery. Anesthesia during surgery is also covered.

Adult Paws

For cats and dogs in their prime years, VCA CareClub offers their third wellness plan. The Adult Paws plan is meant for all doggos and cattos older than 7 months and younger than 7 years of age.

This plan focuses on more diagnostic testing and fewer wellness exams per year. It has one less wellness exam than the Junior Paws plan (with Adult Paws you get two wellness exams per year). However, all of the vaccines that were there for puppies and kittens are still included.

The unlimited wellness visits for weight, coat, and skin inspections are all there. More diagnostic procedures and lab work is involved now – your pet will receive lab work tests for all general infections + all the tests such as fecal exams, blood work, and urinalysis that can help detect issues like low platelet count, heartworm, diabetes, kidney and liver disease, tick-borne and parasites-related illnesses, anemia, and inflammation.

The microchipping benefit and the one-year Home Again subscription are also included.

Adult Paws+

The Adult Paws+ plan includes everything that we’ve mentioned about the Adult Paws plan above. The spaying or neutering benefit from the Junior Paws+ is no longer there, but another major benefit is included.

With Adult Paws+, your cat or dog is entitled to one professional dental cleaning per year.

This is crucial for pets if we want to ensure they maintain optimal oral health throughout their lives. The dental cleaning procedure is carried out under general anesthetic which is also covered by the plan.

Dental exam, evaluation, IV fluid, and pain medication are also supplied at no extra charge.

Senior Paws

The Senior Paws plans are the ultimate level of pet wellness protection offered by the VCA CareClub. This plan envelopes all cat and dog breeds aged 7 years old or older.

On it, you can find everything that’s included with the Adult Paws plan with even more coverage tailored for senior pets.

Besides the regular vaccines, biannual wellness exams, unlimited wellness visits, and the microchip benefit, the Senior Paws plan includes more diagnostic and laboratory exams.

Cats and dogs get to have up to five abdominal and chest x-ray exams per year, and also that number of blood pressure checkups.

This plan can be very important, especially for cats, since they can live longer than dogs (up to 20+ years) and can benefit a lot from thyroid and urinalysis.

Senior Paws+

Similar to the Adult Paws+ plan, the Senior Paws+ plan includes coverage for dental cleanings and the accompanying dental exam, anesthetic, and the meds to manage the procedure.

What’s Excluded From VCA’s Coverage

To begin with, let’s make it clear that pet wellness care plans never cover accidents, injuries, illnesses, hereditary conditions, and all of the other unexpected, emergency, and urgent situations. That’s the purpose of pet insurance plans.

However, there are differences even among the many wellness packages that are being offered on the market.

Some companies cover more conditions and provide more benefits, some less. We went through all of what’s covered with the VCA CareClub.

Let’s review what’s excluded from their many packages:

  • Grooming, bathing, nail trimming, coat brushing, and similar cosmetic treatments;
  • Treatment for flea and tick-borne disease;
  • Anal gland expression;
  • Deworming.

These instances are sometimes covered by some pet insurance agencies. If you’re interested in getting covered for them, too, browse around Protect My Paws to find your VCA CareClub alternative.

Extra Features

Even though the VCA CareClub is only a pet wellness care package, they still offer some extra features that come included with a membership and are free of charge.

myVCA App

The VCA designed a very convenient companion for every CareClub member – the myVCA app for iOS and Android smartphones and tablets.

With this app, you can manage your VCA CareClub membership, and more.

The app can provide you with reminders about your pet’s routine and preventative procedures. Staying up to date with your scheduled vaccines and wellness visits are only some of the benefits of this app.

Booking your appointments for wellness check-ups or scheduling your annual or semi-annual wellness exams is manageable in just a few taps.

Checking in your appointments and paying for monthly premiums and other expenses that aren’t covered by your CareClub plan are also easily done through the myVCA app.

Ultimately, VCA provides access to a 24/7 live virtual chat through the myVCA app where members are able to ask questions about their pet’s condition at any time and skilled vets provide their professional advice.

“Know Your Pet” Library

With pets taking an important place in our lives as we welcome them in our families, VCA comprises an entire section on their website dedicated to articles and help pieces on cat and dog breeds and the illnesses that might affect them

The “Know Your Pet” library at VCA is a place where you can find valuable information on how to properly care for your fur buddy. There are also case studies of exceptional cases where VCA intervened and saved a pet’s life.

Helpful articles on medications that are relevant to your pet’s breed can also be found in this knowledge base. What’s more, the library is accessible through the myVCA app as well, so everything you need to educate yourself and become a better pet parent is right there in your pocket.

VCA’s Pricing Quotes

Earlier in this article, we mentioned that VCA is quite secretive when it comes to providing concise information about the pricing of its CareClub plans. We’ve witnessed this kind of lack of transparency before with other pet coverage providers, and from what we’ve seen in online reviews, the approach doesn’t go toward increasing the success of a service.

With that said, we did our research and discovered that VCA’s CareClub plans start at about $50/month and can go up to $100/month if you opt for more coverage add-ons (spaying/neutering or dental cleanings on the Paws+ plans).

Also, the VCA allegedly makes their members sign an agreement that they will commit to their CareClub plan for at least a year, so take note of this information before you choose to sign up with them.

Discounts and Savings

Lots of pet insurers and other pet coverage providers offer various discounts as an incentive for more pet owners to sign up for one of their plans. The most usual discount that they provide is the multi-pet discount which becomes effective if you sign up more than one pet with them and amounts to 5-15% off of your monthly fee.

Sadly, VCA doesn’t provide a multi-pet discount. They don’t even have a 30-day money-back guarantee so you can test their services first-hand.

What they do offer is an up to 25% savings option only if you opt to use many of their services. If you choose to become a CareClub member and order from the company’s pet products like pet food, pet supplements, and pet care supplies, you can save by bundling up everything in one order.

How Does VCA Compare With Its Competitors?

It’s time to put VCA’s wellness options to the test. How do they fare against the many other options in the pet insurance sphere, and are they worth your time and money?

In this section, we’ll compare what’s offered by the VCA CareClub wellness coverage plans to prominent players in the same niche. The three competitors that we’ve chosen to compare VCA to are Trupanion, Companion Protect, and Pets Best.

They’re all pet insurers but offer coverage for wellness too, so we advise you to check them out and see if you’ll find them more suitable than VCA.

VCA vs. Trupanion

Your first impression about Trupanion might confuse you as you’ll immediately notice that the pet insurer doesn’t even offer pet wellness care coverage. But, Trupanion partners directly with the VCA to offer you a complete 360° coverage for your pet.

Protecting your pet against all of the illnesses and injuries that might affect them can be reinforced if you provide them with routine and preventative care so the risks of getting sick or hurt are minimized. That’s exactly what Trupanion and VCA bring to the table.

Their 360° pet coverage offer will even grant you one month of free coverage and removal of the waiting periods.

FeatureVCATrupanion
Coverage EffectiveUSAUSA, Canada, and Puerto Rico
Reimbursement100% of covered expenses90%
Co-Payment0%10%
Deductible$0$0 – $1,000
Type of DeductibleNot applicablePer condition
Claim Limit OptionsLimited benefitsUnlimited
Accident-Only PlanNot availableNot available
Wellness PlanAvailableNot available
Unlimited Benefits PlanNoYes
AccidentsNoYes
IllnessesNoYes
Illness Waiting PeriodNot applicable30 days
Accident Waiting PeriodNot applicable5 days
Orthopedic Conditions Waiting PeriodNot applicable30 days
Bilateral ExclusionsYesNo
Chronic ConditionsNoYes
Hereditary and Congenital ConditionsNoYes
CancerNoYes
Dental CoverageOnly routine dental careYes
Prescription MedicineOnly vaccinesYes
Alternative/Holistic TherapyNoOptional add-on
Behavioral IssuesNoOptional add-on
Exam FeesYesNo
Exam Required for EnrollmentNoNo
Available At Any Vet ClinicNoYes
MicrochipYesNo
Minimum Pet Age LimitNo limitNo limit
Maximum Pet Age LimitNo limit14 years
Entry FeeUnknown$35.00
Monthly Transaction FeeUnknown$0.00
Multi-Pet DiscountNot availableNone
Claim RepaymentNo claimsWithin 60 days (14 on average)
Direct Vet Bill PaymentNot availableYes
Money-Back GuaranteeNot available30 days
AM Best RatingNot availableUnrated
BBB RatingA+A+

*companies compared in December 2021

Read the full Trupanion Pet Insurance review.

VCA vs. Companion Protect

Companion Protect, just like Trupanion, doesn’t offer a wellness care add-on in their insurance products. However, the insurer includes free biannual wellness exams – something you never see with pet insurance providers.

So, if you think wellness plans cover too much for your pet (VCA indeed covers a lot) and that they’d be fine only with wellness exams, Companion Protect is definitely worth a chance. The company’s insurance plan is affordable and amazing for covering tons of veterinary expenses while conveniently removing all waiting periods.

FeatureVCACompanion Protect
Coverage EffectiveUSAUSA
Reimbursement100% of covered expenses90% of covered expenses
Co-Payment0%10%
Deductible$0$100
Type of DeductibleNot applicablePer incident
Claim Limit OptionsLimited benefits$100,000 ($20,000 in Illinois)
Accident-Only PlanNot availableNot available
Wellness PlanAvailableNot available (wellness exam included in base coverage)
Unlimited Benefits PlanNoNo
AccidentsNoYes
IllnessesNoYes
Illness Waiting PeriodNot applicableNo waiting period
Accident Waiting PeriodNot applicableNo waiting period
Orthopedic Conditions Waiting PeriodNot applicableNo waiting period
Bilateral ExclusionsYesNo
Chronic ConditionsNoYes
Hereditary and Congenital ConditionsNoYes
CancerNoYes
Dental CoverageOnly routine dental careYes
Prescription MedicineOnly vaccinesYes
Alternative/Holistic TherapyNoYes
Behavioral IssuesNoNo
Exam FeesYesYes
Exam Required for EnrollmentNoYes
Available At Any Vet ClinicNoYes
MicrochipYesNo
Minimum Pet Age LimitNo limit6 weeks
Maximum Pet Age LimitNo limit25 years
Entry FeeUnknown$0.00
Monthly Transaction FeeUnknown$2.00
Multi-Pet DiscountNot availableUp to 15%
Claim RepaymentNo claimsWithin 30 days (3-5 days on average)
Direct Vet Bill PaymentNot availableOnly for in-network veterinarians
Money-Back GuaranteeNot availableNot available
AM Best RatingNot availableA
BBB RatingA+A+

*companies compared in December 2021

Read the full Companion Protect Pet Insurance review.

VCA vs. Pets Best

Pets Best is a prominent name in the pet insurance space and they offer coverage for preventative procedures for cheaper prices than VCA.

Their two plans for taking care of all the wellness needs of your pet are similarly packed with all of the benefits that come on the VCA CareClub plans. What you need to pay most attention to are the maximum benefit limits that are set for each offered benefit on an annual level.

FeatureVCAPets Best
Coverage EffectiveUSAUSA, Canada, and Puerto Rico
Reimbursement100% of covered expensesChoice of 70%, 80%, or 90% of covered expenses
Co-Payment0%10%, 20%, or 30%
Deductible$0$50 – $1,000
Type of DeductibleNot applicableAnnual
Claim Limit OptionsLimited benefits$5,000 and Unlimited
Accident-Only PlanNot availableAvailable
Wellness PlanAvailableAvailable
Unlimited Benefits PlanNoYes
AccidentsNoYes
IllnessesNoYes
Illness Waiting PeriodNot applicable14 days
Accident Waiting PeriodNot applicable3 days
Orthopedic Conditions Waiting PeriodNot applicable6 months
Bilateral ExclusionsYesYes
Chronic ConditionsNoYes
Hereditary and Congenital ConditionsNoYes
CancerNoYes
Dental CoverageOnly routine dental careYes
Prescription MedicineOnly vaccinesOptional add-on
Alternative/Holistic TherapyNoOptional add-on
Behavioral IssuesNoYes
Exam FeesYesOptional add-on
Exam Required for EnrollmentNoNo
Available At Any Vet ClinicNoYes
MicrochipYesOptional add-on
Minimum Pet Age LimitNo limit7 weeks
Maximum Pet Age LimitNo limitNo limit
Entry FeeUnknown$0.00
Monthly Transaction FeeUnknown$3.00
Multi-Pet DiscountNot available5% for each additional pet
Claim RepaymentNo claimsWithin 40 days (25 days on average)
Direct Vet Bill PaymentNot availableYes
Money-Back GuaranteeNot available30 days
AM Best RatingNot availableUnrated
BBB RatingA+A+

*companies compared in December 2021

Read the full Pets Best Pet Insurance review.

Customer Service

VCA Animal Hospitals Review 2022 - Protect My Paws (2)

VCA’s contact options are in abundance. We’ve already talked about the brilliant myVCA app which you can download on your phone and use to contact VCA whenever you wish. But there are definitely more ways to get in touch with your favorite animal hospital.

Here are all of the available options where you can get a hold of a VCA representative:

  • Toll-free number: 1-800-VCA-PETS
  • Phone: 1-310-571-6500
  • VCA CareClub phone: 1-800-743-8838
  • Fax: 1-310-571-6700
  • Mailing address:
    VCA Inc.
    12401 West Olympic Blvd.
    Los Angeles, CA 90064

If you wish to contact them in writing, you can use their fax number or fill out an online contact form here.

Remember that this contact info is available to you whenever you have questions of administrative and informative native nature. If you need veterinary advice whenever you have pet-related concerns, log in to your myVCA app and access the 24/7 live vet chat service.

Customer Reviews

What others experienced with the service we are interested in doing business with is surely a driver in our decision-making process. Other people’s opinions have a great influence on how we perceive the quality and reliability of a product or service, and therefore, we think it’s essential to include real user testimonies in our reviews.

Below you’ll find some positive and negative outcomes of customers and their time spent with VCA.

Positive VCA pet coverage Reviews

VCA Mountain View is a brilliant hospital. They really care and they are honest. Before I took out my plan, they told me that it is NOT insurance, and that it is simply WELLNESS only. That the cost of the treatments will be spread out over the period of a year instead of being hit by vet bills. I had discounts on my microchip, my consultations and a few other things. Dr. Walker has to be the most compassionate man I have ever received veterinary care from. I love this hospital!

anonymous

I absolutely love this place. First time there. My cat Timmy needed his shot. And I wasn’t allowed to go in. I was really nervous about that. But they made me feel very comfortable and relaxed when they took Timmy. I didn’t even worry. I spoke with a veterinarian. She gave me the rundown on my beautiful cat. and She made me feel very happy that I took my cat there. They brought Timmy back from getting his shots to me. And he looked as happy as ever. I will definitely be back in. This is Timmy’s veterinarian clinic now. I absolutely love this pet clinic. Thank you so much for taking good care of my cat Timmy!!

Tina K.

Not really sure why there are such negative reviews. My sister took her two kittens here a couple months ago and received such great service. I had been considering changing vets for my two small adult dogs for some time. My older dog is 7 and suffers from major anxiety. I was so impressed with how they handled my Addie.

She was immediately comfortable with the vet and her team. They recommended a course of action to help the anxiety which included a new more effective prescription. And her new vet spoke with me on the phone for over 30 min easing my concerns about my baby. In the previous 7 years, I had never had such an amazing vet experience with her old vet.

Michelle M.

This was my first experience with any vet and honestly I can’t see myself going anywhere else. Everyone here is super friendly and helpful. My cat Pearl was well taken care of and it didn’t completely break my pocket. The doctor we saw was so sweet and caring about my cat’s wound. She called after both visits to make sure she was doing well. They definitely go above and beyond to make you feel cared for and important to them! Thank you all so much.

Samantha G.

Negative VCA pet coverage Reviews

This is specifically about the VCA Animal Hospital in Tempe, AZ on Broadway Road. They did not provide proper follow-up care when my cat’s infection resisted treatment. After I called 3 times, a technician finally called me back and was unable to answer any of my questions! She basically blew off my concerns.

The vet had told me this was a serious infection and the tech acted like it was no big deal. I’ve been a customer for 8 years, spent $296 on this appointment and they can’t be bothered to do proper follow-up? I was told spaying my cat would fix the problem. They wanted to charge me $850 to spay vs $350 elsewhere!

Alexa’s Advice

I signed up my dog GG for the CareClub and have basically received nothing over the past year. I did this mainly to cover her teeth cleaning. When I scheduled the teeth cleaning (which is included with signing up for the $50 per month CareClub cost) there were many “add-ons” that were not included in that service – anesthesia, medications, etc. After that, I called within a few months to take advantage of the other covered services that were to be included in this “club”. I wanted a routine exam.

They told me if nothing was wrong with GG don’t bring her in. I just called about having her nails trimmed and was told that was not a covered service. This has been the biggest waste of money and I am in the process of canceling this service.

PissedConsumer993103

I started taking my puppy to a VCA hospital and had nothing but great experiences. The Doctor did seem to upsell me procedures that my puppy didn’t really need, it was just more of a just-in-case basis, which I didn’t really appreciate. My main issue, however, was that they talked me into VCA CareClub and for the most part loved it.

It wasn’t until I had to emergency relocate from my hometown to a town 6 hours away and they weren’t able to transfer the membership. So, as I write this, I am still paying for a membership that I can’t use. Just pay for the procedures out of pocket, the payment plan is a scam and you’re locked into that location.

William L Goa

Conclusion

It’s time we do a quick rundown on what we’ve covered above about the VCA and their CareClub wellness packages.

In this VCA Animal Hospitals Review, we’ve talked a bit about the company’s history and background and how they rose from a single vet clinic in Los Angeles to a leading chain of veterinary centers dedicated to enhancing America’s pets’ lives.

Nevertheless, we focused more on their pet wellness care options provided through the CareClub program. We elaborate on their six plans that take care of all the routine and preventative treatments for cats and dogs of all ages – from baby puppies and kittens to senior dogs and cats.

However, we also noted that VCA prices these plans a bit above what’s considered to be the industry average for wellness care coverage. The lack of transparency in this department (pricing) is also present.

That being the case, we still highly recommend any of the VCA CareClub wellness options for anyone interested in keeping their pets constantly happy and healthy.

At Protect My Paws, you can find a ton of other options – some similar to VCA and some quite different. All of the resources that we feature on our site are meant to enhance pets’ lives, so we’re positive that here you’ll find the best solution for you and your pet.

VCA Animal Hospitals Alternatives

Before we go, here are some more VCA CareClub alternatives that you can make great use of.

Pet Assure is a unique pet coverage alternative that’s always right for all pet parents that don’t want to bother with immense policies that include tons of conditions and exclusions of coverage. With Pet Assure, you’ll receive discounted prices on all of your veterinary visits and treatments that you schedule for your pet. That includes wellness care too. For a low monthly fee, you can throw away the hassle of managing an insurance policy and simply get a 25% discount on every expense you make at the vet clinic.

TrustedPals is our second alternative to VCA, mainly because of their interesting wellness care rider. The plan comes attached to your TrustedPals pet insurance plan and enables you to spend up to $750/year on all of the benefits that are included on the VCA CareClub plans: vaccines, exams and diagnostics, spaying/neutering, and dental cleaning. They even let you use this coverage to get reimbursement for the pet foods and nutritional supplements that your vet prescribes for your pet.

With wellness coverage that costs only $18.95/month for dogs and $11.95/month for cats, Pumpkin is a great alternative to VCA. The two plans include one of each of the following wellness benefit types per policy period (annually): preventatives for heartworm and deworming, vaccines and vaccine titer, all kinds of wellness diagnostics, a thorough wellness exam, and spay/neuter-related services. Although the plans are quite restrictive to the number of benefits that can be used, for the small fee that you pay, they’re totally worth it.

F.A.Q.

Is the VCA CareClub wellness coverage really worth its price?

Starting at $50/month, the six plans offered on the CareClub program might be a bit pricey when we compare them to what the alternatives cost. However, a CareClub wellness package is a complete solution for keeping your pet’s health always in check. It all goes toward preventing serious illnesses and chronic disorders from developing at a later stage in their life, so in the long run, this coverage might save you tons of money.

Can I cancel my VCA CareClub membership at any time?

VCA lacks transparency regarding their pricing and membership conditions. But, from what we’ve gathered by reading so many online reviews about them, apparently, they commit their members to an annual-binding contract. Whether it’s possible to exit this contract without hassle or not is yet to be determined.

Can I use my VCA CareClub package for free grooming appointments for my pet?

It would be wonderful to find a wellness solution that includes benefits such as grooming, bathing, nail trimming, and similar cosmetic treatments, but the VCA CareClub doesn’t provide that. From the list of all the routine and preventative treatments they include on their plans, grooming, deworming, anal gland expression, and treating parasite-borne illnesses are excluded.

VCA Animal Hospitals Review 2022 - Protect My Paws (2024)

FAQs

Why does VCA cost so much? ›

Like human hospitals, veterinary clinics have diagnostic equipment that is expensive to purchase and maintain. Radiology is a huge investment, especially if state-of-the-art digital x-ray and ultrasound machines are utilized.

Can I cancel my VCA Care Club? ›

You can cancel your VCA CareClub membership when your policy year ends. If you wish to cancel before then, you can email or call the company at careclubpayments@vca.com or 1-800-743-8838.

What company owns VCA Animal Hospital? ›

Who are VCA Animal Hospital competitors? ›

Top Competitors of VCA
  • Petco Animal Supplies Inc. 28,495. $6B.
  • Ardent Health Services. 24,000. $2.4B.
  • Memorial Healthcare System. 14,000. $2.1B. ...
  • IDEXX Laboratories Inc. 10,780. $3.4B. ...
  • Tenet Healthcare Corp. 102,400. $19.2B.
  • Mercy Health. 7,200. $1.1B.

Does VCA ever go on sale? ›

Where can I buy Van Cleef Jewelry for less? Van Cleef and Arpels unfortunately does not go on sale. The only way to get a discount on the brand is to buy a pre-loved piece. Check out Fashionphile for some great options with guaranteed authenticity.

Is VCA a monopoly? ›

Veterinary Center of America (VCA), for example, is one of the most aggressive monopolizers, controlling access to — and prices charged — by over 1,000 vet facilities in 43 states.

What are VCA benefits? ›

Current Certified Veterinary Technician in Los Angeles, CA, California. Our benefits and perks are always improving! Great company perks from pet care discounts, CE allowance, free memberships, an immense library of CE, and career development (into VTS or leadership roles in hospital or outside).

Can I cancel my pet insurance? ›

You can cancel pet insurance at any time. Insurance companies usually ask that you call them to cancel your policy. You can do this at any time, but bear in mind that if you cancel before your policy is due for renewal you may be liable to pay the premiums for the remainder of your current period of insurance.

What do you mean by care club? ›

CareClub Memberships are preventive pet health care plans and not pet insurance. CareClub Membership covers only the selected health care services and products which are specifically identified in the applicable CareClub Membership agreement.

Is VCA and Banfield the same company? ›

Mars also owns over 1,000 Banfield and Blue Pearl Veterinary clinics, and with their new addition of VCA, this adds another 750 veterinary hospitals under their control. With the VCA purchase, Mars also gains control over Antech Diagnostics, "the industry's biggest laboratory.

What does VCA mean in vets? ›

VCA was founded in 1986 by three health care company executives, Neil Tauber and brothers Robert (Bob) and Arthur (Art) Antin. The name is an abbreviation of "Veterinary Centers of America." VCA acquired its first veterinary clinic, West Los Angeles Veterinary Hospital, in 1987.

How long has VCA been around? ›

Founded in 1986, VCA is a family of hometown animal hospitals committed to making a positive impact for pets, people, and our communities.

What is the largest animal hospital chain? ›

Who We Are. The Schwarzman Animal Medical Center is the world's largest non-profit animal hospital with 130+ veterinarians providing the highest quality medical care across more than 20 specialties and services.

Which is the largest veterinary hospital chain in world? ›

The largest veterinary hospital is 71,500 ( 769,620 ft) was achieved by Salam Veterinary Group (Kingdom of Saudi Arabia) in Buraydah, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, on 10 October 2022.

What are the biggest animal healthcare companies? ›

Top leading companies in the Animal Treatment Market: Top 10 By Revenue
  • Merck Animal Health.
  • Zoetis.
  • Ceva Sante Animale.
  • Nutreco N.V.
  • Boehringer Ingelheim GmbH.
  • Elanco.
  • Virbac.
  • Biogenesis Bago.

What VCA is most popular? ›

Van Cleef & Arpels Alhambra Jewelry

Van Cleef & Arpel's most famous collection, the Alhambra, was first launched in 1968.

What is the most popular VCA piece? ›

Here are five of the most iconic pieces of Van Cleef & Arpels jewellery.
  • The Alhambra Collection. We'll begin with probably the most iconic piece of Van Cleef & Arpels jewellery of all time. ...
  • The Zip Necklace. ...
  • Ballerina Pins. ...
  • The Mystery Set. ...
  • Passe-Partout necklace. ...
  • One of the most influential jewellery design houses.
Feb 22, 2022

Why is VCA so popular? ›

Why is this brand so popular? The Van Cleef & Arpels brand combines quality craftsmanship with high-value materials and gemstones which give it its coveted and high-value status in the jewellery market.

Why are corporations buying veterinary practices? ›

The reason for this is simple: it's a wise business decision for them. They see an opportunity to make money from the practice itself and its clientele, and they know that enough veterinarians are willing to sell out to make their investment worthwhile.

What are three monopoly companies? ›

To date, the most famous United States monopolies, known largely for their historical significance, are Andrew Carnegie's Steel Company (now U.S. Steel), John D. Rockefeller's Standard Oil Company, and the American Tobacco Company.

What companies are becoming a monopoly? ›

Amazon, Meta, Google, Disney have massive brand recognition, and their services impact almost everyone. That's enough to have people consider them as monopolies. Though these companies dominate specific markets, they have competitors too.

How does VCA work? ›

VCA can control the volume of anything which produces control voltage. You just need to pass the audio signal through the signal input and connect the control input to your foot pedal, mod wheel etc. They can then control the volume of the resulting sound.

What 401k does VCA use? ›

VCA 401(k) plan details

SALARY SAVINGS PLAN through Prudential. Their plan covers 27629 employees.

What is a VCA credit card? ›

Your VCA Mastercard Prepaid Card can only be used for purchases and payments at participating VCA Animal Hospitals. We look forward to seeing you and your pet soon!

Will pet insurance save me money? ›

Pet insurance can be a good way to help offset a major unexpected vet bill, like cancer treatment or a broken bone, which can cost thousands of dollars. Without pet insurance, you would have to pay out of pocket for vet expenses.

Why do people take out pet insurance? ›

Pet insurance exists to protect you against unexpected costs related to your pet, such as vet bills. Find out how pet insurance works, what to look for, how much it might cost and some of the other things to consider if you're thinking about buying a policy.

Does pet insurance really exist if so what does it cover? ›

Pet insurance can help manage health costs for your pets.

It can cover costs associated with certain unexpected illnesses and injuries. This can help make health care for your dog or cat more affordable and give you extra quality time with your four-legged family members.

What does a care team member do? ›

Care teams are responsible for understanding your needs and supporting your health. Registered nurses educate, assess your needs and coordinate care if you need customized plans of care.

How do I add pets to VCA app? ›

Pets can only be added and/or removed at the hospital level. Please reach out to your hospital for assistance. Once they've completed this action, the app will reflect those changes.

What is the purpose of self care club? ›

The mission of this group is to learn and practice self-care techniques to help reduce stress and promote positive mental health. Activities will include stretching and body movement, breathing exercises, mindfulness and meditative practices, and other self-help activities.

What is the Banfield controversy? ›

Banfield, owned by Mars Corporation, took Dr. Robb's franchise away from him when he refused to automatically recommend and provide full vaccinations for all of his patients. Dr. Robb has referred to the vaccination policy as a “cash cow” for Banfield and accuses Banfield of putting profits before healthcare.

Is Banfield leaving PetSmart? ›

Asked whether PetSmart's hunt for other clinic operators indicates a loosening of the relationship between the two, Banfield public relations manager Ryan Bartholomew provided this company reply: "Banfield and PetSmart remain strategic partners, and we continue to consider PetSmart locations for new hospital openings."

Who is Banfield competitor? ›

Banfield Pet Hospital's top competitors include TeleVet, TeleTails, and Fuzzy Pet Health.

What do the letters after a vets name mean? ›

DVM – This degree stands for doctor of veterinary medicine. Veterinarians with DVM degrees have graduated from United States veterinary schools and earned a doctorate, which is required to practice veterinary medicine. According the AAHA, most veterinarians in the United States are DVMs.

What is VCA level? ›

In many synthesizers, a VCA (or a digital equivalent) is the last functional block that a signal goes through before being sent to the synth's output; the VCA determines the instantaneous volume level of a played note, and it quiets the output at the end of the note.

How much is VCA worth? ›

Candy maker Mars is buying L.A. animal hospital chain VCA for $7.7 billion.

How much money did VCA make last year? ›

VCA also picked up 13 animal hospitals with combined revenues of $31.7 million last year, Antin said, bringing its year-to-date total to $122 million.

How many VCA pet years are in a human year? ›

The most common theory comparing human and canine ages uses this equation: A dog's age (in years) x 7 = Age in “dog years.”

Who owns Banfield? ›

Image of Who owns Banfield?
Mars, Incorporated is an American multinational manufacturer of confectionery, pet food, and other food products and a provider of animal care services, with US$45 billion in annual sales in 2022. Mars was ranked as the fourth-largest privately held company in the United States by Forbes.
Wikipedia

What is the largest vet group in the US? ›

By the numbers: Company hospital counts (as of press time)
  • Banfield Pet Hospital (owned by Mars Inc.; 1,050 hospitals)
  • VCA Animal Hospitals (owned by Mars Inc.; more than 925 hospitals)
  • National Veterinary Associates (NVA) (more than 700 hospitals)
  • VetCor (336 hospitals)
  • Pathway Vet Alliance (275 hospitals)
Oct 22, 2019

What company owns the most hospitals in the US? ›

Largest Health Systems
  • HCA Healthcare (Nashville, Tenn. ...
  • Veterans Health Administration: 171 hospitals.
  • CommonSpirit Health (Chicago): 140 hospitals.
  • Ascension (St. ...
  • Trinity Health (Livonia, Mich. ...
  • LifePoint Health (Brentwood, Tenn. ...
  • Community Health Systems (Franklin, Tenn. ...
  • Advocate Health (Charlotte, N.C.): 67 hospitals.
Feb 28, 2023

Who owns the largest hospitals in the US? ›

HCA Healthcare is the largest health system in the U.S., with over 200 hospitals in its network. Universal Health Services is the second largest health system operating 180 hospitals, and CommonSpirit Health is the third largest, with 164 hospitals.

Who is the best vet ever? ›

Let us introduce you to eight notable veterinarians and explain the impact they had on the industry.
  1. Claude Bourgelat. Veterinary medicine as we know it would not exist were it not for Dr. ...
  2. Bernhard Lauritz Frederik Bang. ...
  3. Elinor McGrath. ...
  4. Buster Lloyd-Jones. ...
  5. Louis J. ...
  6. Patricia O'Connor. ...
  7. James Herriot. ...
  8. Mary Knight Dunlap.
Mar 18, 2019

Who is the most followed veterinarian in the world? ›

6 of the Most Popular Veterinary Influencers on Instagram
  • Dr Evan Antin. Instagram Handle: @dr.evanantin. Followers: 1.3 million. ...
  • Chris Brown. Instagram Handle: @drchrisbrown. Followers: 628K. ...
  • Dr Jan Pol. Instagram Handle: @thedrpol. Followers: 445K. ...
  • Dr Michael Lazaris. Instagram Handle: @drlazaris_vet. Followers: 53.9K.
Jun 17, 2021

Which country has the best vet? ›

QS Rankings 2021: Veterinary Science
  • The Royal Veterinary College, the UK.
  • University of California, Davis, the US.
  • Utrecht University, the Netherlands.
  • University of Edinburgh, the UK.
  • Cornell University, the US.
  • University of Guelph, Canada.
  • The Ohio State University, the US.
  • University of Cambridge, the UK.
Jan 13, 2022

What is the richest type of vet? ›

The highest paid veterinary specialty is: Ophthalmology

Average salaries for a veterinarian vary, but we found that the highest paid specialty in the industry is Ophthalmology, with AVMA reporting annual incomes of $199K+.

What is the highest paid animal doctor? ›

Top 10 highest-paid veterinarian careers
  • Regulatory medicine veterinarian.
  • Military veterinarian.
  • Zoo veterinarian.
  • Veterinary Ophthalmologist.
  • Board-certified veterinary surgery specialist.
  • Veterinary research scientist.
  • Equine veterinarian.
  • Veterinary radiologist.
5 days ago

What animal vet makes the most money? ›

Top 10 highest paid veterinarian careers
  • Zoo veterinarian.
  • Veterinary practice manager.
  • Veterinary hospital manager.
  • Public health veterinarian.
  • Regulatory medicine veterinarian.
  • Small animal veterinarian.
  • Military veterinarian.
  • Veterinary research scientist.
Mar 10, 2023

Why is seeing a vet so expensive? ›

Just like any other business, veterinarians have to deal with overhead. They have to pay rent, utilities, and staff salaries. They have to purchase supplies, medications and equipment. They have to pay for laboratory analysis by an outside lab, or maintain an in house laboratory.

Why does spaying cost so much? ›

You should know that even though it is a fairly common procedure, spaying is still major surgery. A fair amount of care is meant to be administered to your dog before, during, and after this surgery. This explains why it is so expensive.

Do all vets charge the same? ›

The consult fee varies based on a number of factors. This is because this fee has to cover the cost of the non-veterinary staff, building, staff training, and equipment: different practices have different setups and levels of equipment and staffing. They may also cover these overheads differently.

Why is blue pearl so expensive? ›

Pink pearls are more coveted than pearls with green hues, and blues are expensive because of their rarity. Naturally-colored pink and lavender pearls are freshwater pearls, while naturally-colored blue pearls are saltwater pearls.

How do I keep my vet prices down? ›

7 Hacks To Save You Money At The Vet
  1. Talk to an online vet first. ...
  2. Compare different vets. ...
  3. Always ask for a written estimate. ...
  4. Look into an Emergency Fund to pay your vet bills. ...
  5. Consider preventative care. ...
  6. Reexamine your vaccine schedule. ...
  7. Maintain a healthy food & exercise routine.
Aug 26, 2020

Are vet prices negotiable? ›

You can go with the cheaper option or go back to your original vet and let them know someone else will charge less. In some cases, negotiating with your vet might go nowhere. If that happens, you can simply go elsewhere and get the same service. This includes prescriptions, which vets will often mark up.

How can I spend less at the vet? ›

Ways You Could Start Saving Money At The Vet
  1. Invest in a high-quality diet.
  2. Don't skip your annual wellness checks.
  3. Stay on top of chronic conditions.
  4. Keep on top of their dental care at home.
  5. Consider pet insurance.
  6. Maintain a healthy weight.
Sep 21, 2022

What age should a female dog be spayed? ›

When should I spay my female dog? We recommend waiting until your dog is at least over 6 months and likely even older for larger dogs. The benefits are much more pronounced in larger dogs, but there is not a lot of difference for lap dogs.

What is the downside of spaying? ›

SPAYING – THE NEGATIVE SIDE

Spaying may cause weight gain. Some pets may gain weight after spaying and as they get older. Just as with people, to loose weight we need to either diet or exercise. Cutting back on food intake or increasing your pets activity will help reduce weight gain.

Is it healthier for female dogs to be spayed? ›

Your female pet will live a longer, healthier life.

Spaying prevents uterine infections and decreases the incidence of breast tumors, which are malignant or cancerous in about 50 percent of dogs and 90 percent of cats. Spaying your pet before her first heat offers the best protection from these diseases.

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Arielle Torp

Last Updated:

Views: 6451

Rating: 4 / 5 (61 voted)

Reviews: 84% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Arielle Torp

Birthday: 1997-09-20

Address: 87313 Erdman Vista, North Dustinborough, WA 37563

Phone: +97216742823598

Job: Central Technology Officer

Hobby: Taekwondo, Macrame, Foreign language learning, Kite flying, Cooking, Skiing, Computer programming

Introduction: My name is Arielle Torp, I am a comfortable, kind, zealous, lovely, jolly, colorful, adventurous person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.